A bit of an update on the present state of things. 1 Feb. 2015

Hello folks,

 

Sunday, a day of rest according to some Christians – I think today in particular I am inclined to agree. Indeed it has been very busy these past few days, and there has been a distinct lack of content on this blog, so hopefully this little update will hold things over until I get some juicy news from the games industry, and whatever else tickles the brain.

 

The weather’s nice out here on the west coast – can’t say I envy those back east currently buried under mountains of snow. While winter is generally associated with snow and so on, I prefer mild temperatures – keeps things at a comfortable level. Now since I have been busy, I have not really done any sort of gaming apart from the “classics.” Now I use this term loosely as Bad Company 2 may be a classic to some, but it is not necessarily old enough to be deemed as such – though Splinter Cell (the first game) earned that designation some time ago.

battlefield-bad-company-2-hd-6

Bad Company 2 still plays great, and there are plenty of servers up and running that players can go on, mess around and overall have a good time. Now sure there is Battlefield 3 and 4, but I like Bad Company 2 – it isn’t as graphically demanding (graphics do not make the game), and the combat is essentially the same as the later installments to the series (prone position not withstanding of course). Being the “old school” man that I am (some old stuff I like, otherwise no I generally do not deem everything old school as the best) I chose a revolver and an M1 garand rifle as opposed to all those fancy fully automatic rifles available to players in BFBC2. Something about six-shooters (it isn’t a classic six-shooter, but the revolver design is close enough), and the M1 seem to appeal to me; perhaps it is the history, or the skill and patience required to use these weapons effectively on the battlefield. Whatever the case may be, it is great and I would not give up either of these guns for the alternatives available (unless I feel like kicking down doors SWAT-style and emptying a magazine in under 25 seconds).

 

Ultimately one can guess that because there is a sudden loss of free time per se, we learn to appreciate what we have in the library when we get access to free time. Sure I may still pursue the latest and greatest, but these days I just examine the material online – saves time, and time is the gold nugget we all seek to gather as much of before we pass away.

 

Apologies for getting a little “depressing” but as a writer I am entitled to expressing my thoughts, within reasonable limits of course (that stupid [Censored] took my seat, lousy [censored] little [censored]; humor intended). Still, I think readers will appreciate a writer who is honest with them, because finding people who are honest when so much of the outside world encourages us to wear masks is a difficult task indeed.

 

Alright, I think this is a good time to end today’s update here – thank you all for reading, and I shall see you next time.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About thoughtsandtopics

Creating articles related to the games industry and military news.

Leave a Reply

