Skirmish Games: Tabletop War gaming.

Well I did it, I got back into miniatures after nearly 6 years of minimal activity. What got me back into miniatures was not the same old formula of massive armies, 700.00 starting price tag and so on (roughly, you need army books, rules, dice, and of course the soldiers and paints with brushes and knives to do some good work), but rather some changes that Games Workshop made to one of their lines, and the discovery of skirmish-type games.

 

Now to summarize for you readers, skirmish-type games typically do not require some 150 models (infantry) and vehicles (usually a few tanks here and there), rather what skirmish-type games take are smaller squads, or even just a squad divided into individually moving models. This smaller game style means that I have to carry around less soldiers, and I can take more time in personalizing and painting each individual soldier rather than what I had to do which was speed paint some 25 soldiers at a time, which leaves me wanting to strip the layers of paint off the models due to the sacrifice of quality in favor of speed.

warhammer age of sigmar for blog

The change that Games Workshop made to their Warhammer fantasy line, however, was the key element which caused me to march back into the service of the Emperor. With the new Age of Sigmar setup, the rules and army pages (known was Warscrolls) are free to download, leaving more resources devoted to soldiers which you can field as small a force or as large a force as you want. The restrictions of force organization are gone, which means you can field Bretonnian models with Empire and Lizardmen figures and no one can object to that (well, except maybe lore buffs, or people who are really uptight about mixed armies). Presently in my force I’ve got only Empire soldiers (which is what I want), and these comprise of a Witch Hunter, and some militia. Now I do have Empire state troops, Handgunners (musketeers), and a couple of cannons, but I wanted to do more of an irregular force this time around – makes for an interesting pseudo-colonial guard scenario rather than the Prince’s forces under the command of a Witch Hunter.

Empire Witch Hunter for blog

The painting and modelling aspect was also a contributing factor which drew me back into the fold. With a smaller army to manage, I now can focus on a few specific models and work on them to make them absolutely brilliant – something I have been wanting to do for a very long time. Indeed it is with this in mind that I have also expanded into Warmachine and started a small Khador force to give myself some variety when it comes to miniatures – Bolt Action from Warlord Games might also be on the list in the future, but we will see.

 

While I am still burnt out on Warhammer 40,000 as a miniatures game, it is nice to be able to jump back into a hobby that for a good portion of my early years helped define who I was as a person, and helped shape my interests in the real world – without it as part of my development I think I would have been lost in translation and transformed (so to speak) into a soul adrift in this crazy world we call home. Now folks, that’s all I wanted to touch on for this post – have yourselves a good week if I do not write another post, and I shall see you next time.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About thoughtsandtopics

Creating articles related to the games industry and military news.

One response to “Skirmish Games: Tabletop War gaming.”

  1. Tavendale says :

    Skirmish games are just so much more approachable, too! I’ve got a few different ones on the go, giving me so much more varied fun from both gaming and painting, than I would get from a single army for a larger scale game.

Leave a Reply

